más recientes

Schreiber The Hero As Archers Outlast Waterdogs For The PLL Title

29 de Septiembre de 2023 a las 14:50

Photo courtesy of the


By Gary Groob Columnist and Co-Host of NLL Talk on Spanglish Sports World and Spanglish World Networks


TORONTO. - The Waterdogs faced the Archers in this year's Premier Lacrosse League (PLL) championship from Subaru Park in Philadelphia, PA.  Although the weather wasn't cooperating, it didn't damper the spirits on this day, with both teams fighting for every inch to hoist this year's PLL championship cup.


Two star-laden teams battled tooth and nail to the final buzzer.  Michael Sowers of the Waterdogs was looking to repeat as champion for the Waterdogs, while Tom Schreiber was looking for his first championship for the Archers.  Kieran McArdle, Sowers, Jack Hannah, Zach Currier and Ethan Walker were the guns for the Waterdogs.  Tom Schreiber, Mac O'Keefe, Tre LeClaire, Matt Moore, Challen Rogers, Connor Fields and Latrell Harris.  Even though Harris and Fields were hurt, the depth of the team was exceptional with Reid Bowering stepping in for Fields.


The goaltending match-up had the mentor vs. the student, with Dillon Ward in net for the Waterdogs facing Brett Dobson in net for the Archers.


The first half belonged to the Archers getting out to a 10-4 lead.  Goals by Tre LeClaire, Ryan Aughavin, Mac O'Keefe, Grant Ament, Schreiber, and Reid Bowering (replacing Fields) had this looking like it was going to get ugly early.


The never quit attitude of the Waterdogs made this a nailbiter in the second half.  Pulling even 14-14.  Connor Kelly, Jake Carraway, Ethan Walker, Ryan Conrad, and Zach Currier would allow the 'Dogs to comeback.  Special teams were a big part of the Waterdogs resurgence, going 3 for 3 on the power-play.


Cue the Dramatics:


With less than five minutes to go, someone was going to be the hero.  The league's MVP Tom Schreiber proved once again why he was the greatest field player in the game.  Deep into the shot clock, Schreiber fired a laser finding the net with 1:37 left to give the lead to the Archers.  Jake Carraway nearly answered for the Waterdogs with seconds left.  He fired a blast from beyond the arc.  Dobson was able to make the save and preserve the win and the championship 15-14.


Congratulations to the Archers, who are this year's Premier Lacrosse League champions for the first time in their history.  Brett Dobson was brilliant in net for the Archers making 18 saves on the day.  Dobson was also named the finals MVP!


The league now gears toward its winter tournament in February.   This once again will be in sixes form, showcasing the top four teams in the league.  The Archers, The Cannons, The Waterdogs and the Redwoods will battle it out for winter supremacy.